ad

Another newbie thread - Property Investment

A

alenip

Hi,

I've been reading about property investment recently and doing a lot of research but nothing is better than an experienced opinion.

At the moment I have around £50k to invest and I'm renting privately the house I'm currently living in (circa £9k/year).

I'm considering a few options:

option 1: invest all the 50k buying my own house expecting some capital growth over the years if the house prices rise. My only problem with this option is that I work as a contractor, with short term contracts (3month-1year) and being flexible with location is a great advantage, however at some point i will have to settle down somewhere because my girlfriend is already getting tired of moving constantly.

option 2: invest in a low priced house with 4+ bedrooms and let bedrooms to students/young professionals. would be looking at a buy-to-let mortgage, let's assume 100k house with a 25% deposit would still leave me with £25k in cash for other investments, or i could stretch the deposit and get better conditions in the mortgage (probably not worth it). With rough estimations a gross income of £1100x11months = ~£12.1k year gross return. 12.1% gross yield in theory.

option 3 - invest in house to let (not to multiple occupants),lower yield but potentially some capital growth over time.

Thanks in advance

Cyprus Property Buyer

Cyprus Property Buyer

alenip,

Glad to see you make reference to gross yield as I'm sure you are aware net yield can be very different.
I bought over a 100 BTL's properties, a few dozen for me, similar number for a business partner and the rest for clients. In my experience it is difficult to make it pay with single family occupancy and I would recommend the HMO route. This means more legislation that you must adhere to but generally the rewards are worth it.