ad

Environment search with concerns - should I buy this house?

W

wasteland2000

I'm trying to buy a house in West London, but the environment search results are not all good. The surface flooding risk is 1 in 200 years, and the main road very close to it (within 250m) has a risk of 1 in 75 years. The house is within 4km of a well used for energy exploration or extraction. The potential for natural ground instability within 50m is 'moderate'. (although further investigation can be done through a house-buyer survey to see if the ground instability actually resulted problematic bases of the house.) There are overhead power lines or mobile phone masts within 250m of the house. Finally it's right next to a park which means it's within an area likely to be impacted by 'Environmental Constraints'. I'm not too experienced in this, could anybody give me some advice in what kind of risks I'm facing here? Is this house still worth buying? Are these risks major concerns or they're just standard minor things that people tend to put up with.

J

Jonathan Rolande

Take advice from your Lawyer but there are probably very few areas that don’t have some issue. We all take a path daily between health and security and convenience etc. The same applies to housing – it’s your call in the end.

D

Donquick

Hi - By the feel of it your report is a Landmark Envirosearch Residential. These are the top reports in terms of detail and scope. Without going into depth, as I don't have time at the moment, most of your concerns are quite minor and are not going to influence the property value or the chances of a contaminated land designation being given to the property (which would be a problem). Incidentally, your report insures you against this event now that you have paid for it.