Yield on Holiday Lets

N

nkyme01

Hi all

Given what look like attractive property prices now I was thinking of buying something like a 2 bed apartment to let to holiday makers. Being a total newbie at this I was hoping some of the wiser experienced ones of you might be able to help me with some of my questions. The area I know best is Javea/Denia/Calpe so was considering buying there.

Questions I had to start with are:
1. What sort of property tends to generate the best rental yield - I was thinking a 2 bed apartment suitable for a family of 4?
2. What sort of occupancy rate could I expect through the year - what sort of yield would that translate to on current prices?
3. Given that I am in the UK and it wouldn't be so easy for me to manage it from here, what sort of property agency would be best at managing the property? Would do they typically charge?
4. What local taxes would I incur on the property and on the rent I would generate?

What else should I be thinking about?

Many thanks in advance for any replies - any advice would be much appreciated.

Karl

C

Carol444

Let yields

Hi Karl,

I have a 2 bedroomed apartment in Calpe which I rent out so can answer your questions.

1) The best rental yield is definitely a 2 bedroomed apartment, this can hold a family of 4 but you would be wise to put in a fold-up bed in the living room as I get families of 5 staying in my place usually. Larger families (can include a grand parent or 3 children) tend to find holidays more expensive, so will be more likely to rent the place.

2) Occupancy in most places is rather low at the moment and people tend to put prices right up in August school holidays to account for it. My place is occupied throughout the year with only 2 or 3 weeks free, but I have had my place for 11 years now and have worked hard at building up a list of clients who go back year after year, so I have no advertising costs etc. which you will have to factor into things.