ad

What would you do?

K

Kim Richardson

Hello

Newbie here I hope I don’t do or say anything naughty

I’m hoping for some help or direction on where to go with this if possible? Sorry this might be quite long.

I own a house, woohoo good start, it cost 335k (£60k deposit) two years ago and we owe £269k and it’s now valued at £365k the mortgage deal has ended and I’m on a variable rate (£250 higher a month than the flat rate)

I have planning permission for a new attached build on the land that we plan to move into. I have a pretty standard restrictive covenant for building on the land (standard ex council) in the deeds. Firstly what company would you use for indemnity insurance for this? What prices am I looking at? I have had an approximation of £200 which seems very low.

Next, I have 100k available savings and the build & current house renovations all look like it’s going to be around £260k to do. That’s with a company project managing the whole thing. I went through the quote matistically and found 25% of stuff missing as I have done a simple renovation before and know a bit, plus I had a builder and architect to hand so really feel I have a hand on the missing costs everyone goes on about.

The idea was to remortgage the current house after deeds split, with a different lender then get a builders mortgage on the land to finance the rest of the build using the 100k for the renovation and some of new build.

I got a solicitor to look at splitting the land deeds so both the property and land were in mine and my partners names. But today she threw in the towel as she wasn’t happy doing a simultaneous split of deeds whilst transferring to a new mortgage etc Plus she had a refusal by the land registry before with a similar case