ad

What would you do with £80k?

R

RAWJ

Hi All,

This is my first post here. A quick scan down the first couple of pages highlights that there are frequent posts from newbies such as myself, wanting to know how to get started.

I'm new to property development, but have been keenly researching over the past 12 months, observing house prices, and even gone to a few auctions to get the feel for how they run on the day.

I recently sold my first house, after a split with my partner, and have a saving of £80,000 and no current mortgage. I have moved into a rented accommodation with my new partner. I am in Oxfordshire, so property prices in this area are high.

I am self employed. I work in the IT industry, and I know that all the information I may need is available to me via the internet and books, but there is no substitute for experience.

I have no debt, and generally speaking I don't like to borrow. I would consider a mortgage, but would prefer to make small, low risk and manageable steps during my first years.

What would you do in my situation?

Thanks for any replies, it will be really interesting to hear views on how I can grow the saving I have.

F

fenella

Buy the retirement flat for sale in Ashburton, Devon (with Your Move, Newton Abbot). The vendor will sell to investors or cash buyers for 70K (£15K below market rate) for a quick sale.

B

Barny

Hi there,

What is your goal from investing your 80k, are you looking for immedaite income in the form of decent profit per month or are looking at it long term in the form of capital increase, or both (obviously far harder to achieve!)? Depending on your answer will give you different options and point you in different directions but in addition, a lot would also depend on the house prices that you're looking at?