ad

Seeking advice

J

JackA

Hi, I'm extremely new to property investment and feel ready to dip my toe into the world of property.

I have 50k ready to use for investment and was wondering what is best to do with it? Would you aim for flats or houses? Try for cheap and cheerful or relatively nice house/flat (obviously then cutting into profits)?

I live in Cambridgeshire and prices at the moment round my way are ok, but not as low as I would like. I have been looking at properties in hull and was wondering would it be wise to invest there, baring in mind the distance from my home and it being my first investment? Judging by the prices there I am confident I would make a lot of profit and perhaps not even need to use a mortgage?

Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated, cheers.

Jack

T

totallyproperty

Administrator
Staff member
Hi JackA

First of all welcome to the forum, we hope you find it useful and informative.

I note your comments with regards to a 50k investment and it is obvious that you have been looking at different markets around the UK. Some factors to take into consideration:-

Location, location, location - this is vital

Research the overall UK market as well as local markets across the country

Rental yield - I presume you are looking to buy and rent out?

Is your 50k a long term investment? Is there any chance you might need it at short notice?

Do not rush in - wait and I am sure that opportunities will arise. You are in a powerful position with 50k in cash

Start small, cut your teeth in the world of property and look to build with a long term view. You will make mistakes, as we all do, so better to make these on smaller investments in the early days.

I hope these bullet points are useful to you.

Regards,

Mark

J

JackA

Cheers for your reply and thanks a lot for the advice. Mind if I ask how you got into property and what stage you at at the moment? Cheers

T

totallyproperty

Administrator
Staff member
Hi JackA