ad

leashold contract

S

Sibod2002

Hi guys I'm new to this forum so be gentle .

Basically I own a leasehold house which currently has 75 years left on. The house was originally freehold but was turned into leasehold just before I bought it in 2011 by the previous owners .

The lease created in 2011 stated it was for 99 years from 1992. I am currently paying £300 a year ground rent but from the start of the lease the ground rent doubles every 20 years .

I signed the papers so I know I am bound by the contract. I just wanted Any advice or ideas before I make a move to purchase the lease as I want to sell my house . They have quoted me £15300 to buy the freehold which has jumped from £9000 when they quoted be in January 2015. I am no expert so any advice would be appreciated .

R

Richard Mews

Hi guys I'm new to this forum so be gentle .

Basically I own a leasehold house which currently has 75 years left on. The house was originally freehold but was turned into leasehold just before I bought it in 2011 by the previous owners .

The lease created in 2011 stated it was for 99 years from 1992. I am currently paying £300 a year ground rent but from the start of the lease the ground rent doubles every 20 years .

I signed the papers so I know I am bound by the contract. I just wanted Any advice or ideas before I make a move to purchase the lease as I want to sell my house . They have quoted me £15300 to buy the freehold which has jumped from £9000 when they quoted be in January 2015. I am no expert so any advice would be appreciated .
Seems sharp practice by the owners. The more time goes on and the term of the lease runs down the more you will have to pay either to buy the freehold or to renew the lease. The value of the freehold is determined by the amount and multipled by usually 25 - 30 times. It seems that with the increase due in 2022 that this has been factored into the price and seems about right.