ad

If you had £80k what would you do?

B

Benproperty123

I am a teacher looking to get out of education and I have come into some inheritence which may be my saving grace. I have many friends who are within the trades and have advised me to put the money into property (probably knowing I would come to them for the work). I have recently finished renovating my current house and I have made a fair profit on it, considering we have only lived in it for a short time. So I would consider myself to have a small amount of experience.

I have a sum of 80k and I am now thinking about venturing into property. Feeling a bit blind in this field, I’m asking the question - what would you do with 80k considering these factors:

- You live on the wiltshire/hampshire border.
- You can buy properties at auction for around 90k - 200k locally.
- You have friends in most trades (except joinery/carpentry).
- You have some experience in renovating a house.

All ideas are welcome.

Thanks in advance.

B

Benproperty123

I should add that my short term goal is buy to sell, to find my feet and build capital. The long term goal is to build a buy to let portfolio.

G

George Ahye

Hi Ben, congrats on making your first profit! I hold a senior role in a large UK Build to Rent company, have invested successfully myself and have a family background of builders/investors. Nonetheless, this is simply my opinion!

Buying a home to live in, renovate and sell on is still a great way to build up equity/capital pretty quickly. It goes without saying many areas of London aren't so appealing currently, so I'd start with looking at house prices in the area you're considering.