Guanacaste Property ? Did I miss the boat ?

S

sunny_8

All,
I am a newbie trying to invest some money (60K) in Costa Rica. Realtors point me to Guanacaste. I am only looking to buy a lot of land or somthing.

The realtors tell me to buy in the Surfside Estates development. ONe lot is about 480sq meters for 55K.

They say I will be able to sell for upwards or 80K when the mariner opens.About 2 yrs....or so is when they think the 80-90K mark will hit for lots.

My questions :

1. Is it better to buy in a gated community that is nearly all done with homes ? Resale ?
2. Is Guanacaste still looking like it will provide double digit returns ?
3. Single lots a good idea ?

What do I need to be aware of ?
Are the realtors pulling my legs ? I see tons of condo's on the market, from 100K to 400K, SFH for 400K in the same area.

The Lot I am looking at is 3 blocks from the Beach, 3 min drive from the "Flamingo mariner", its at the Playa Potrero area. Its not in a gated community and I will look to sell it in 2yrs.

I read that a lot of hotels are building there, and that Guanacaste is the hottest place right now for development, which began about 2-3 yrs back. Just not sure if I missed the boat and if prices will continure to rise ?

I am thinking I cannot lose being 3 blocks from the beach....where homes are 325K right now....what you guys think ?

Thanks

A

Adrian B

All,
I am a newbie trying to invest some money (60K) in Costa Rica. Realtors point me to Guanacaste. I am only looking to buy a lot of land or somthing.

The realtors tell me to buy in the Surfside Estates development. ONe lot is about 480sq meters for 55K.

They say I will be able to sell for upwards or 80K when the mariner opens.About 2 yrs....or so is when they think the 80-90K mark will hit for lots.

My questions :

1. Is it better to buy in a gated community that is nearly all done with homes ? Resale ?
2. Is Guanacaste still looking like it will provide double digit returns ?