ad

Best way to invest £100K???

I

iwhanmer

Hi All.

I am a novice at property developing and I am hoping to get some advise and suggestions. I currently have 5 buy to let properties that do well enough to pay the mortgage on my current residential property. I loved renovating them properties ready to rent out and I hate my current full time job.

I have saved £100,000 and I am hoping to quite my full time job and use this to become a full time property investor. I would need to make an income of around £2,500 in order to quite my job and hopefully have potential to increase this over time.

Dose anyone have any suggestions on the best way to do this???

I am thinking a buy renovate and sell strategy? Any advise on what the best locations are (I am very flexible on location) to do this with only £100K and how to find the properties that need renovation?

Thank you for any advise you can give me I realise this is a broad question but as I said I am only a novice.

Cheers

P

postcodr

Hi iWhanmer

You need to bear in mind that if you follow the buy-renovate-sell strategy, you need to give some careful thought to the tax implications. HMRC are likely to class you as a 'Property Developer' so any profit you make on the sale will be taxed as trading profit - i.e. you'll pay income tax and NI on your profits.

You could potentially work around this if you lived in the properties as your primary residence while you complete the work. I think I'm right in saying that HMRC typically look for 6 months residency for a property to qualify as a legitimate primary residence. If you can manage that, then you could theoretically tun around two properties a year with tax-free profit.

I recommend you get some professional financial advice and do some of your own thorough research before embarking on your adventure.

Good luck...
Dave

T

totallyproperty

Administrator
Staff member
Hi Dave