Anyone investing in Greece?

T

Thanasi97

I would like to hear anyone’s thoughts about real estate investing in Greece.

FYI I’m a broker in Greece and NY

L

Longterminvestor

Administrator
There will certainly be a time the pile back into property in Greece but is that time now? Further travel restrictions, a weak economy and underlying problems within the EU. There will be a time but perhaps not just yet?

T

Thanasi97

Thanks for reply! I think the time is now. Consensus here is prices will keep going up for years.
im curious to know how foreign investors see Greece?

T

Theo_Ch

I believe that the time for property investment in Greece is now, as the prices now in Greece are up to 4 times less than other European countries, and the economy is slowly rising and improving.
Also, an initiative was given to the investors by the Greece government, where since the 1st January 2020 and until 31st December 2022, no VAT will need to be paid while purchasing a new property.
An additional advantage of the property investment in Greece now, is that you can find and purchase a house for €250,000.00 in Athens, the capital of Greece. In which other European capital you can purchase a house for that amount of money?

T

TimTim

I am a consulting for a property in Northern Cyprus and regularly monitor google searches for buying real estate in Mediterranean countries. According to my observations, even despite a strong decline in the first half of 2020 due to the covid crisis, Greece ranks first or second among the Mediterranean countries in terms of the number of interested investors from different countries, including the demand for properties in the Greek islands. I think now is a good time, but in my opinion it is probably worth waiting for January-February 2021 for a better understanding of global trends in the economy of the whole world and Greece in particular. Perhaps prices will drop a little more on the basis of a general slowdown in markets.

D

diyhelp